LGiU Scotland & CCLA Councillor Awards 2018


The inaugural LGiU Scotland and CCLA Councillor Awards ceremony was held on 29th November 2018 at the City Chambers in Edinburgh, culminating six months of nominating, shortlisting and judging.

Shortlisted Councillors

(winners are in bold)

Award Councillor Council
Champion for Education Jimmy Gray Highland Council
Tom Heggie Highland Council
Elaine McSporran Glasgow City Council
Caroline Shiers Perth and Kinross Council
Susan Webber Edinburgh City Council
Environmental Impact Gavin Corbett Edinburgh City Council
Chris Cullen South Ayrshire Council
Anne Horn Argyll and Bute Council
Cathy McEwan Renfrewshire Council
Innovation and Digital Braden Davy Angus Council
David  Macdonald East Renfrewshire Council
Donald Reid North Ayrshire Council
Leader of the Year John Alexander Dundee City Council
Joe Cullinane North Ayrshire Council
Willie Innes East Lothian Council
Douglas Lumsden Aberdeen City Council
James Stockan Orkney Islands Council
Lifetime Contribution Paul Carey Glasgow City Council
Bill Howatson Aberdeenshire Council
Elaine McDougall Glasgow City Council
Margot Russell Midlothian Council
New Councillor of the Year Michael Cullen Glasgow City Council
Elizabeth Robertson Inverclyde Council
Josh Wilson South Lanarkshire Council
Ryan Houghton Aberdeen City Council
Rural Community Champion Jennifer  Barclay Highland Council
George Carr Aberdeenshire Council
Mark Findlater Aberdeenshire Council
Donald  Kelly Argyll and Bute Council
Jim  McGillivray Highland Council
Urban Community Champion
Angela Convery East Renfrewshire
Linda Erskine Fife Council
George Gordon Edinburgh City Council
Ann Ritchie Falkirk Council
Special Contribution Archie Dryburgh Dumfries and Galloway Council

2019 awards

Due to the success of the 2018 awards, we’ll be holding the awards again in 2019 – made possible by our sponsors CCLA. Visit our page for more details.